The Public Entity Risk Management Authority (PERMA) was created in 1985 to jointly fund coverage programs for its members. PERMA is a risk retention pool with 31 members: 21 cities, 4 transit agencies, and 6 special districts.

PERMA is governed by a Board of Directors, which consists of one representative from each member agency. The Board meets a minimum of twice per year.

The Board elects an Executive Committee, which meets multiple times each year to oversee PERMA affairs. The day‑to‑day business of PERMA is handled by a full‑time staff, headed by an Executive Director, and a variety of consultants and vendors.


Mission Statement:

The Public Entity Risk Management Authority (PERMA) is a member-directed pool dedicated to providing financially secure, stable, and cost effective coverage programs and risk management services for its members.